WE DISTRIBUTE GREAT BRANDS.
FOR AWESOMENESS, Folow Us:
Title Image

Tretorn

Tretorn Logo

BORN OUT OF
SCANDINAVIAN WEATHER

Tretorn outdoor wear
Tretorn Freizeitschuhe
tretorn clothing

Tretorn was founded in Helsingborg, Sweden in 1891, and has come a long way since. Today, you can find the brand in stores all over the world, but Tretorn remains committed to their living heritage. This means proven expertise in creating products that can withstand Scandinavian weather without getting in the way of everyday life.

In 1896, five years after the start, Tretorn produced 1 million pairs of galoshes in Helsingborg and in 1900, they produced their first sneakers. Looking back, Tretorn has pioneered the sneaker, the rubber boot and even the tennis ball for more than 120 years. They’ve been synonymous with the sport for the century. 

Tretorn is proud of their history and legacy. From the rough weather that got them started in 1891 to the continued improvement and innovation that keeps them going, Tretorn is celebrating their living heritage. To Tretorn’s first 128 years – and evolving for many more years to come.

Tretorn jacket woman

Coats

Tretorn Jacke

Jackets

Tretorn Daypack

Backpacks

Tretorn Rubber Boots

Rubber Boots

Tretorn Raincoats

Raincoats

Tretorn History

Tretorn History 1891

1891

BORN OUT OF SCANDINAVIAN WEATHER

January 3rd, 1891 the Dunker family opened up the doors to the new rubber factory that came to be known as Tretorn. The number of employees was 52 and the factory floor about 2,500 square meters. The factory produced galoshes for farmers to protect their feet. The tough Scandinavian weather was challenging for the farmers who didn’t have shoes to protect them from the cold or wet weather. The new Tretorn galoshes were a big innovation, which helped farmers all over the country to stay warm and dry when they were walking the fields. In the next coming year Tretorn produced 39 000 pair of galoshes.

1900

FIRST SNEAKER

What many don’t know is that Tretorn is the second oldest sneaker manufacturer in the world. Right after the US rubber company started producing Keds. The Dunker family were big sports enthusiasts and knowing how to vulcanize rubber, Henry Dunker decided to go into the sports business. On 1 May 1900 they produced their first rubber sole sneaker. A huge innovation in footwear and the beginning of a new era for Tretorn.

Tretorn History 1900
Tretorn History 1902

1902

FIRST TENNIS BALL

The Dunker family took their interest in sports to next level. Two years after the first sneakers launched, Henry Dunker and Tretorn first started making tennis balls. The tennis balls became very popular and were widely distributed.

1903

FIRST RUBBER BOOT

Tretorn went from only producing protective galoshes for the farmers to produce the first rubber boot, as we know it today. This was a natural progression and made the rubber boot user-friendly to not only the farmers but also to regular customers.

Tretorn History 1903
Tretorn history 50ies

50’s

7 MILLION BOOTS A YEAR

With innovations like the rubber boot, sneakers and tennis ball on the resume, Tretorn became internationally well known; with global fame Tretorn becomes Scandinavia’s biggest producer of rubber in the 1950’s. With 3000 employees Tretorn was manufacturing 7 million rubber boots a year.

1955

TOURNAMENT

As a natural step from the success with sport shoes in the 30’s, Tretorn introduced a remake of the Tournament as an on-court tennis sneaker. The style is a true original and re-launched in a contemporary eco design for 2019.

Tretorn Tournament 1955
Tretorn Racket Shoe 1961

1961

INTRODUCING THE RACKET SHOE

First launched as “Davis Cup” and later renamed to “Racket”. This wildly popular original ‘Racket‘ sneaker was made for professional court tennis. With its robust rubber toecap and the three-layer pimpled sole, that wouldn’t wear out during the toughest of play. It was an innovative tennis clay court shoe that raised to iconic heights. This is a true original icon and re-launched in a contemporary eco design for 2019.

1968

OFFICIAL SWEDISH OLYMPIC TEAM SNEAKER

The Olympics took place in Mexico 1968, also known as the design Olympics because of the graphic design campaign, which became one of the most famous in Olympic history. Tretorn were proud creators of the official Swedish Olympic team sneaker and became after this event even more acknowledged as a sports and sneakers brand across the world.

The Olympic was also the official Olympic team sneaker during the winter Olympics in Grenoble.

Tretorn Olympic 1968
Tretorn History 1969

1969

WINGS LAUNCH

At the end of the 60s sailing became very popular as a sport and hobby. At this time Tretorn’s classic sailing collection Wings was first launched. The rubber sailing boots became quickly popular and could be seen all over the Swedish archipelago.

1998

MICRO X

Tretorn’s micro cellular technology launches and is patented worldwide and recognized by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) as the pioneer in a new category of tennis balls called ‘micro cell.’ Tretorn’s micro cell tennis balls, the Micro X, is neither pressurized nor pressure less. The Micro X ball combines the best of both worlds, resulting in a tour performance ball that does not lose bounce or performance over time.

Tretorn Micro X
Tretorn Serie +

2002

PRESSURIZED TENNIS BALLS

Tretorn launches pressurized tennis balls and become official sponsors at the WTA (Women Professional Tennis Association).

2016

ECO ESSENTIALS

In 2016 Tretorn celebrated 125 years in business, which made them rethink the company’s basic philosophy and what kind of products they wanted to make for the next 125 years. Tretorn has a long heritage of CSR and responsible manufacturing and as we face huge climate challenges, they decided it was time to take even greater responsibility. To use our planets limited resources in a more innovative way Tretorn decided to start the Eco Essentials Initiative.

Tretorn Eco Essentials
Tretorn Eco Essentials

2016

LEFT OVER PROJECT

Tretorn launches the first Eco Essentials project – the Left Over Project. Together with the Swedish outdoor retailer Naturkompaniet, they launched a rain jacket collection inspired by natural ecosystems, where nothing should go to waste. They bought leftover fabrics from manufacturers and reused it by creating extremely limited-edition collections.

2017

GHOST NET PROJECT

Tretorn and Naturkompaniet launch the second Eco Essentials project. A limited co-lab collection made out of recycled fishing nets, collected to prevent ghost nets in our oceans.

Tretorn Ghost Net Project
Tretorn History The Ocean Confereence

2017

WORLD OCEAN CONFERENCE NEW YORK

Tretorn is selected and highlighted at UN’s World Ocean Conference as a benchmark company working towards climate goals.

2018

OCEAN-SHELL

The unique fabric, Tretorn OCEAN-SHELL®, was launched in 2018 as their next invention within the Eco Essentials initiative. The OCEAN-SHELL® is a three-layer fabric made from recycled PET-bottles collected from the ocean outside of Taiwan. The jacket is equipped with hydrophilic membrane also made from recycled PET from the ocean. Making the fabric a full circle renewable source adapted to be recycled again.

The OCEAN-SHELL® fabric at the moment can be found in jackets like the Arch and Sphere jackets. This is a fabric created to innovate the future so you can count on finding it in Tretorn’s collections in many new creative ways from now on.

Tretorn History Ocean Shell
Eco Sneakers

2019

ECO SNEAKERS

Tretorn reinvents iconic sneakers from the 60’s, but with a cleaner footprint in the spirit of Eco Essentials Initiative.

back to top

WE DISTRIBUTE GREAT BRANDS.
FOR AWESOMENESS, Folow Us:
Title Image

Tretorn

Tretorn Logo

BORN OUT OF
SCANDINAVIAN WEATHER

Tretorn outdoor wear
Tretorn Freizeitschuhe
tretorn clothing

Tretorn wurde 1891 im schwedischen Helsingborg gegründet. Heute findet man die Marke in Geschäften auf der ganzen Welt. Tretorn entwirft Produkte, die Stil haben und von Stadtbewohnern und Naturliebhabern gleichermassen getragen werden. Letztlich geht es bei Tretorn darum, sowohl Stil als auch Funktionalität zu zelebrieren.

Im Jahr 1896, fünf Jahre nach dem Start, produzierte Tretorn in Helsingborg bereits eine Million Paar Galoschen, und im Jahr 1900 stellten sie die ersten Turnschuhe her. Rückblickend war Tretorn seit mehr als 120 Jahren wegbereitend für den Sneaker, den Gummistiefel und sogar den Tennisball. 

 

Vom rauen Wetter, mit welchem Tretorn 1891 anfing, bis hin zu den kontinuierlichen Verbesserungen und Innovationen, die das Unternehmen weiterführen Tretorn feiert sein lebendiges Erbe. Auf die ersten 128 Jahre von Tretorn und auf viele weitere Jahre, die noch folgen werden.

Tretorn jacket woman

Coats

Tretorn Jacke

Jackets

Tretorn Daypack

Backpacks

Tretorn Rubber Boots

Rubber Boots

Tretorn Regenjacke

Raincoats

Tretorn History

Tretorn History 1891

1891

GEBOREN AUS DEM SKANDINAVISCHEN WETTER

Am 3. Januar 1891 öffnete die Familie Dunker die Türen zu der neuen Gummifabrik, die unter dem Namen Tretorn bekannt werden sollte. Die Fabrik zählte 52 Mitarbeiter, hatte etwa 2.500 Quadratmeter und produzierte Galoschen für Bauern, zum Schutz ihrer Füsse. Das herbe skandinavische Wetter war eine Herausforderung für die Bauern, die keine Schuhe hatten, um sich vor dem kalten oder nassen Wetter zu schützen. Die neuen Galoschen von Tretorn waren eine grosse Innovation, die den Bauern im ganzen Land half, warm und trocken zu bleiben, wenn sie auf den Feldern arbeiteten. Im nächsten Jahr produzierte Tretorn 39.000 Paar Galoschen.

1900

DER ERSTE SNEAKER

Was viele nicht wissen, ist, dass Tretorn der zweitälteste Turnschuhhersteller der Welt ist. Gleich nachdem United States Rubber Company mit der Produktion von Keds anfing. Da die Familie Dunker sportbegeistert war und zudem wusste, wie man Gummi vulkanisiert, beschloss Henry Dunker ins Sportgeschäft einzusteigen. Am 1. Mai 1900 stellten sie ihren ersten Turnschuh mit Gummisohle her. Eine grosse Innovation in der Schuhbranche und der Beginn einer neuen Ära für Tretorn.

Tretorn History 1900
Tretorn History 1902

1902

DER ERSTE TENNISBALL

Familie Dunker brachte ihr Interesse am Sport auf das nächste Level. Zwei Jahre nachdem die ersten Turnschuhe auf den Markt kamen, begannen Henry Dunker und Tretorn erstmals mit der Herstellung von Tennisbällen. Die Tennisbälle fanden grossen Anklang und waren weit verbreitet.

1903

DER ERSTE GUMMISTIEFEL

Tretorn stellte nun nicht mehr nur schützende Galoschen für die Bauern her, sondern auch den ersten Gummistiefel, wie wir ihn heute kennen. Dies war eine natürliche Entwicklung und machte den Gummistiefel nicht nur für die Bauern, sondern auch für den normalen Kunden zugänglich.

Tretorn erster Gummistiefel 1903
Tretorn history 50ies

50er Jahre

7 MILLIONEN STIEFEL PRO JAHR

Mit Innovationen wie dem Gummistiefel, den Turnschuhen und dem Tennisball im Portfolio wurde Tretorn international bekannt; und mit weltweitem Ruhm wurde Tretorn in den 1950er Jahren zum grössten Gummihersteller Skandinaviens. 3000 Mitarbeiter stellten jährlich sieben Millionen Gummistiefel her.

1955

TOURNAMENT

Als ein natürlicher Schritt nach dem Erfolg mit Sportschuhen der 30er Jahre, führte Tretorn ein Remake des Tournament als Sportschuh für den Tennisplatz ein. Der Stil ist ein echtes Original und wird 2019 in einem zeitgemässen Eco-Design neu aufgelegt.

Tretorn Tournament 1955
Tretorn Racket Shoe 1961

1961

EINFÜHRUNG DES RACKET-SCHUHS

Zunächst als “Davis Cup” lanciert und später in “Racket” umbenannt. Dieser überaus beliebte ursprüngliche Racket-Sneaker wurde für das professionelle Platztennis hergestellt. Mit seiner robusten Zehenkappe aus Gummi und der dreilagigen Noppensohle, die sich auch beim härtesten Spiel nicht abnutzen würde. Er war ein innovativer Tennisschuh für den Sandplatz, der Kultstatus erreicht hat. Es handelt sich um eine echte, ursprüngliche Ikone, die in einem zeitgemässen Eco-Design 2019 neu aufgelegt wurde.

1968

OFFIZIELLER TURNSCHUH DER SCHWEDISCHEN OLYMPIAMANNSCHAFT

Die Olympischen Spiele fanden 1968 in Mexiko statt. Auch bekannt als die Design-Olympiade, wegen ihrer Grafikdesign-Kampagne, die zu einer der berühmtesten der olympischen Geschichte wurde. Tretorn waren stolze Schöpfer des offiziellen Turnschuhs der schwedischen Olympiamannschaft und wurden nach diesem Ereignis noch mehr als Sport- und Turnschuhmarke auf der ganzen Welt anerkannt.
Der Olympic war auch der offizielle Turnschuh der olympischen Mannschaft während der Olympischen Winterspiele in Grenoble.

Tretorn Olympic 1968
Tretorn History 1969

1969

WINGS LAUNCH

Ende der 60er Jahre wurde das Segeln als Sport und Hobby sehr beliebt. Zu dieser Zeit wurde die klassische Segelkollektion «Wings» von Tretorn erstmals vorgestellt. Die Gummisegelstiefel wurden schnell populär und waren auf dem ganzen schwedischen Archipel zu sehen.

1998

MICRO X

Tretorns Micro Cell Technologie wird eingeführt, weltweit patentiert und vom Internationalen Tennisverband (ITF) als Vorreiter einer neuen Tennisball-Kategorie anerkannt, genannt «Micro Cell». Der Micro Cell Tennisball von Tretorn, der Micro X, ist weder ein Druckball, noch ist er drucklos. Der Micro X-Ball kombiniert das Beste aus beiden Welten. Dies schafft einen Tour-Performance-Ball, der mit der Zeit weder an Sprungkraft noch an Leistung verliert.

Tretorn Micro X
Tretorn Serie +

2002

DRUCKBÄLLE

Tretorn lanciert Druckbälle und wird offizieller Sponsor der WTA (Women Professional Tennis Association).

2016

ECO ESSENTIALS

Im Jahr 2016 feierte Tretorn sein 125-jähriges Jubiläum, was sie dazu veranlasste, die Grundphilosophie des Unternehmens zu überdenken und zu überlegen, welche Art von Produkten sie für die nächsten 125 Jahre herstellen wollten. Tretorn kann auf eine lange Tradition von Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) und verantwortungsbewusster Produktion zurückblicken. Da wir alle vor enormen klimatischen Herausforderungen stehen, haben sie beschlossen, es sei an der Zeit, noch mehr Verantwortung zu übernehmen. Um die begrenzten Ressourcen unseres Planeten auf innovativere Weise zu nutzen, beschloss Tretorn, die Eco Essentials-Initiative zu starten.

Tretorn Eco Essentials
Tretorn Eco Essentials

2016

LEFT OVER PROJECT

Tretorn lanciert das erste Eco Essentials-Projekt – das Left Over Project. Gemeinsam mit dem schwedischen Outdoor-Einzelhändler Naturkompaniet startet Tretorn eine Regenjackenkollektion, inspiriert von natürlichen Ökosystemen, bei der nichts verschwendet werden sollte. Sie kauften Stoffreste von Herstellern auf, und recycelten sie, indem sie Kollektionen in extrem limitierter Auflage entwarfen.

2017

GHOST NET PROJECT

Tretorn und Naturkompaniet starten das zweite Eco Essentials-Projekt. Eine limitierte Co-Lab-Kollektion aus recycelten Fischernetzen, die gesammelt wurden, um den Geisternetzen in unseren Meeren entgegenzuwirken.

Tretorn Ghost Net Project
Tretorn History The Ocean Confereence

2017

WORLD OCEAN CONFERENCE NEW YORK

Tretorn wird an der World Ocean Conference der Vereinten Nationen als beispielhaft für die Arbeit an den Klimazielen ausgewählt und hervorgehoben.

2018

OCEAN-SHELL

Das einzigartige Gewebe, Tretorn OCEAN-SHELL®, wurde 2018 als ihre nächste Erfindung im Rahmen der Eco Essentials-Initiative eingeführt. Die OCEAN-SHELL® ist ein dreilagiges Gewebe, das aus recycelten PET-Flaschen hergestellt wird, die aus dem Meer vor Taiwan gefischt wurden. Der Mantel ist mit einer hydrophilen Membran versehen, die ebenfalls aus recyceltem PET aus dem Meer hergestellt wird. Das Gewebe wird zu einem vollständigen Kreislauf einer erneuerbaren Quelle, die sich für die Wiederverwertung eignet.

Tretorn History Ocean Shell
Eco Sneakers

2019

ECO SNEAKERS

Tretorn erfindet ikonische Turnschuhe aus den 60er Jahren neu, aber mit einem saubereren Fussabdruck im Sinne der Eco Essentials-Initiative.

back to top